United States · 5 years

Lowest shared hosting service cost in the United States over 5 years, renewals included

Ranked by the service cost allocated to 5 years, the lowest we can compute from published prices is Namecheap Stellar at $247, which is $4.11 a month averaged across the whole period.

The cash actually charged by the end of 5 years on that plan is $246, because the host bills a whole term at a time.

The ordering is that service cost and nothing else. It is not a quality ranking and no host pays to appear here or to be placed higher.

Ranking metric: service cost allocated to 5 years, ascending. The cash column is shown next to it and is not what the ordering uses; where a host does not publish the billing term of its renewal price, no cash figure is computed. Published prices only, read on each host's own pages. Hosts that do not publish a renewal price are excluded — see the full list for which those are. Last refresh 2026-09-06.
HostPlan and its published conditionAdvertisedRenewal5 years service costCash paid through 5 yearsNext step
NamecheapStellar
12-month prepaid term. Advertised price fell from $2.28 to $1.91/mo billed yearly since 2026-08-20; the host states $22.92 is charged
$1.91$4.66
2.4x
$247
$4.11/month
$246Figures checked 2026-09-06
HostingerPremium
48-month prepaid term. Advertised price requires a 48-month prepay; the host states the total charged today as $143.52. The renewal b
$2.99$10.99
3.7x
$275
$4.59/month
renewal term not publishedFigures checked 2026-09-06
ChemiCloudStarter
36-month prepaid term. Advertised price rose from $1.49 to $1.95/mo between 2026-08-20 and 2026-09-06. Shown on the triennial tab aga
$1.95$11.95
6.1x
$357
$5.95/month
$500Figures checked 2026-09-06
BluehostStarter
36-month prepaid term. The host's renewal FAQ publishes a separate renewal price for each renewal billing term: $9.99/mo on a 36-mont
$3.99$9.99
2.5x
$383
$6.39/month
$503Figures checked 2026-09-07
ScalaHostingMini
36-month prepaid term. The 36-month tab shows $2.95/mo renewing at $11.95/mo. A 12-month and a 1-month option exist on the page but t
$2.95$11.95
4.1x
$393
$6.55/month
$536Figures checked 2026-09-06
HostGatorHatchling Plan
36-month prepaid term. The host's renewal chart publishes a separate renewal price and invoice for each renewal term: $17.59 for one
$3.75$10.99
2.9x
$399
$6.65/month
$531Figures checked 2026-09-06
IONOSEssential
12-month prepaid term. $4/month with a 1-year term, then $8/month. Renewal billing term not stated. State and local taxes apply on to
$4.00$8.00
2.0x
$432
$7.20/month
renewal term not publishedFigures checked 2026-09-06
GoDaddyWeb Hosting Economy
36-month prepaid term. $5.99/mo for the first 3-year term, regular price $11.99/mo. The host does not state the renewal billing term
$5.99$11.99
2.0x
$503
$8.39/month
renewal term not publishedFigures checked 2026-09-06
None of these yetyou are not sure how long you will keep the site, or you have not checked whether your plan's limits fitRun your own period

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Why this order is not the order you see elsewhere

On this particular list the cheapest advertised price and the cheapest 5 years total happen to be the same host. That is not usually the case — it is worth checking rather than assuming.

Where the ordering changes

cash due today = the invoice the host publishes for the introductory billing term service cost (Y) = intro price x months inside the intro term + renewal price x the remaining months + setup fee renewal invoice = the published renewal price for one stated renewal billing term cash paid through = cash due today + every renewal invoice charged on or before that date unused prepaid = paid-for months still remaining at the end of the period renewal multiple = renewal price / intro price

Service cost and cash paid are not the same number. A 48-month offer compared over three years has 36 months of service cost but a four-year invoice already paid. We show both and never call either one the total. No domain renewal, migration or overage charge is added to either. The full method is at Method.

What is not on this page

Domain renewal after the free first year, migration fees, overage charges, and anything a host quotes only on request. It is also not a judgment of quality — we have not run a site on any of these.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.

Sources: hosts' own pricing and renewal pages only. Figures last verified 2026-09-06. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.