United States · Shared hosting
HostGator US renewal prices: what it costs after the intro term
HostGator's Baby Plan plan advertises $4.50 a month in the United States and renews at $16.49 - 3.7x the advertised price.
That rate is not what is charged at signup: the 36-month term is billed as $162 up front. The next invoice after that is $594 for 36 months.
The advertised price covers 36 months. Over 5 years the service costs $9.30 a month, or $558 allocated to that period.
Commitment: the advertised rate requires paying 36 months up front. If you leave before then, the unused months are already paid for.
What the host publishes in the United States
| Plan | Type | Advertised | Cash due today | Renewal options as published | Increase | Conditions as published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hatchling Plan | Shared hosting | $3.75 36-month prepaid term | $135 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 2.9x | Partly re-confirmed. At least one field could not be read on the host's own page at the last check. The host's renewal chart publishes a separate renewal price and invoice for each renewal term: $17.59 for one month, $158.27 for one year, $395.61 for three years. The advertised introductory price is rendered by... |
| Baby Plan | Shared hosting | $4.50 36-month prepaid term | $162 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 3.7x | Partly re-confirmed. At least one field could not be read on the host's own page at the last check. Renewal chart: $24.19 for one month, $224.27 for one year, $593.61 for three years. Advertised introductory price is JavaScript-rendered and is carried from 2026-08-20. |
| Business Plan | Shared hosting | $6.25 36-month prepaid term | $225 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 3.5x | Partly re-confirmed. At least one field could not be read on the host's own page at the last check. Renewal chart: $30.79 for one month, $290.27 for one year, $791.61 for three years. Advertised introductory price is JavaScript-rendered and is carried from 2026-08-20. |
| Pro Plan | Shared hosting | $13.95 36-month prepaid term | $502 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 2.1x | Not re-confirmed on the last check. The host's page did not render a readable figure, so the values here are carried from an earlier check rather than shown as current. The plan is sold on the host's own web hosting page but is absent from the host's shared hosting renewal chart, so its renewal price could not be re-confirmed on 2026-09-06. Both figures are carried from 2026-08-20. |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Monthly billing price: not stated anywhere on the host's own site (checked 2026-09-06).
Intro monthly (rendered client-side): not stated anywhere on the host's own site (checked 2026-09-06).
What it costs once the introductory term is over
A hosting price has three parts that are almost never shown together: the invoice charged at signup, the cost of the months inside the period you are comparing, and the invoice that arrives when the introductory term ends. These are different numbers and the two tables below keep them apart.
| Plan | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hatchling Plan | $3.75 $45 of service | $3.75 $90 of service | $3.75 $135 of service | $6.65 $399 of service |
| Baby Plan | $4.50 $54 of service | $4.50 $108 of service | $4.50 $162 of service | $9.30 $558 of service |
| Business Plan | $6.25 $75 of service | $6.25 $150 of service | $6.25 $225 of service | $12.55 $753 of service |
| Pro Plan | $13.95 $167 of service | $13.95 $335 of service | $13.95 $502 of service | $20.25 $1,215 of service |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
What is actually charged, and when
| Plan | Cash due today | Next renewal invoice | Cash paid through 1yr | Cash paid through 2yr | Cash paid through 3yr | Cash paid through 5yr | Unused prepaid at 3yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hatchling Plan | $135 | $396 for 36 months | $135 | $135 | $135 | $531 | 0 months |
| Baby Plan | $162 | $594 for 36 months | $162 | $162 | $162 | $756 | 0 months |
| Business Plan | $225 | $792 for 36 months | $225 | $225 | $225 | $1,017 | 0 months |
| Pro Plan | $502 | renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons | $502 | $502 | $502 | — | 0 months |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Service cost and cash paid are not the same number. A 48-month offer compared over three years has 36 months of service cost but a four-year invoice already paid. We show both and never call either one the total. No domain renewal, migration or overage charge is added to either. The full method is at Method.
How to read these figures
- On three-year service cost, ChemiCloud works out cheaper for shared hosting in the United States ($1.95 a month against $3.75) - its figures.
- Commitment risk. The advertised price on Hatchling Plan requires paying 36 months up front - $135 at signup. Compared over a shorter period, part of that is service you have paid for and will not use.
- Renewal billing term not confirmed on 1 of these plans. The host publishes a renewal rate but not the billing period it applies to, so those plans are excluded from every cash comparison on this site rather than given an assumed term.
- If any figure here is stale, the comparison is stale. Hosts change prices without notice and none of them tell us when. These were read on 2026-09-06.
Where to check this yourself
Go to HostGator and open its pricing page. Every United States figure above comes from https://www.hostgator.com/web-hosting and the host's own renewal-price page, read on 2026-09-06.
Related
- HostGator against Hostinger over three years
- HostGator against Bluehost over three years
- HostGator against SiteGround over three years
- Alternatives to HostGator
- How much web hosting costs after the first year
- The hosts that stay cheap in year two
- Work out your own period, on cash or on service cost
- When a HostGator term bought today would renew, and a reminder for it
- What web hosting really costs
Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.
Sources: hosts' own pricing and renewal pages only. Figures last verified 2026-09-06. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.
Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.
Corrections: contact form.