United Kingdom · Shared hosting
IONOS UK renewal prices: what it costs after the intro term
IONOS's Plus plan advertises £1.00 a month in the United Kingdom and renews at £9.00 - 9.0x the advertised price.
That rate is not what is charged at signup: the 12-month term is billed as £12 up front. The host does not state which billing term its renewal price applies to, so the next invoice cannot be computed without guessing.
The advertised price covers 12 months. Over 2 years the service costs £5.00 a month, or £120 allocated to that period.
What the host publishes in the United Kingdom
Prices on this page are the figures the host publishes. Where the host publishes them excluding VAT, that is marked on the row and the figure is kept ex-VAT rather than grossed up, because the rate that applies depends on the buyer. VAT is not added to any total here.
| Plan | Type | Advertised | Cash due today | Renewal options as published | Increase | Conditions as published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | Shared hosting | £3.00 6-month prepaid term | £18 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 2.0x | Excludes VAT. GBP3/month for 6 months, then GBP6/month excl. VAT. Renewal billing term not stated. |
| Plus | Shared hosting | £1.00 12-month prepaid term | £12 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 9.0x | Excludes VAT. GBP1/month for 12 months, then GBP9/month excl. VAT. Renewal billing term not stated. |
| Premium | Shared hosting | £8.00 6-month prepaid term | £48 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 2.0x | Excludes VAT. GBP8/month for 6 months, then GBP16/month excl. VAT. Renewal billing term not stated. |
| Ultimate | Shared hosting | £12.00 6-month prepaid term | £72 computed from the published monthly price and its term |
| 2.0x | Excludes VAT. GBP12/month for 6 months, then GBP24/month excl. VAT. Renewal billing term not stated. |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Monthly billing price: not stated anywhere on the host's own site (checked 2026-09-06).
What it costs once the introductory term is over
A hosting price has three parts that are almost never shown together: the invoice charged at signup, the cost of the months inside the period you are comparing, and the invoice that arrives when the introductory term ends. These are different numbers and the two tables below keep them apart.
| Plan | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | £4.50 £54 of service | £5.25 £126 of service | £5.50 £198 of service | £5.70 £342 of service |
| Plus | £1.00 £12 of service | £5.00 £120 of service | £6.33 £228 of service | £7.40 £444 of service |
| Premium | £12.00 £144 of service | £14.00 £336 of service | £14.67 £528 of service | £15.20 £912 of service |
| Ultimate | £18.00 £216 of service | £21.00 £504 of service | £22.00 £792 of service | £22.80 £1,368 of service |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
What is actually charged, and when
| Plan | Cash due today | Next renewal invoice | Cash paid through 1yr | Cash paid through 2yr | Cash paid through 3yr | Cash paid through 5yr | Unused prepaid at 3yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | £18 | renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons | — | — | — | — | 0 months |
| Plus | £12 | renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons | £12 | — | — | — | 0 months |
| Premium | £48 | renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons | — | — | — | — | 0 months |
| Ultimate | £72 | renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons | — | — | — | — | 0 months |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Service cost and cash paid are not the same number. A 48-month offer compared over three years has 36 months of service cost but a four-year invoice already paid. We show both and never call either one the total. No domain renewal, migration or overage charge is added to either. The full method is at Method.
How to read these figures
- On three-year service cost, Hostinger works out cheaper for shared hosting in the United Kingdom (£1.49 a month against £5.50) - its figures.
- Renewal billing term not confirmed on 4 of these plans. The host publishes a renewal rate but not the billing period it applies to, so those plans are excluded from every cash comparison on this site rather than given an assumed term.
- If any figure here is stale, the comparison is stale. Hosts change prices without notice and none of them tell us when. These were read on 2026-09-06.
The same host in the other market
Different plan names, a different currency and, on most hosts, different renewal terms. Those figures are on their own page so that nothing on this one mixes two markets:
- IONOS US renewal prices - priced in USD for the United States
Where to check this yourself
Go to IONOS and open its pricing page. Every United Kingdom figure above comes from https://www.ionos.com/hosting/web-hosting, read on 2026-09-06.
Related
- IONOS against Hostinger over three years
- IONOS against SiteGround over three years
- IONOS against GoDaddy over three years
- Alternatives to IONOS
- How much web hosting costs after the first year
- The hosts that stay cheap in year two
- Work out your own period, on cash or on service cost
- When a IONOS term bought today would renew, and a reminder for it
- What web hosting really costs
Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.
Sources: hosts' own pricing and renewal pages only. Figures last verified 2026-09-06. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.
Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.
Corrections: contact form.