United States · Shared hosting

SiteGround US renewal prices: what it costs after the intro term

SiteGround's StartUp plan advertises $2.99 a month in the United States and renews at $17.99 - 6.0x the advertised price.

That rate is not what is charged at signup: the 12-month term is billed as $36 up front. The host does not state which billing term its renewal price applies to, so the next invoice cannot be computed without guessing.

The advertised price covers 12 months. Over 2 years the service costs $10.49 a month, or $252 allocated to that period.

Advertised$2.99/mo12-month prepaid term
Cash due today$36computed from the published monthly price
Renews at$17.99/mo equivalentrenewal billing term not stated by the host
Last checked2026-09-06from the host's own pricing page

What the host publishes in the United States

Source: SiteGround pricing page. checked 2026-09-06
PlanTypeAdvertisedCash due todayRenewal options as publishedIncreaseConditions as published
StartUpShared hosting$2.99
12-month prepaid term
$36
computed from the published monthly price and its term
  • $17.99/mo — renewal billing term not stated by the host
6.0xPrepaid for 12 months, renews at $17.99/mo. Renewal billing term not stated. No upfront total published and no month-to-month option offered.
GrowBigShared hosting$4.99
12-month prepaid term
$60
computed from the published monthly price and its term
  • $29.99/mo — renewal billing term not stated by the host
6.0xPrepaid for 12 months, renews at $29.99/mo. Renewal billing term not stated.
GoGeekShared hosting$7.99
12-month prepaid term
$96
computed from the published monthly price and its term
  • $44.99/mo — renewal billing term not stated by the host
5.6xPrepaid for 12 months, renews at $44.99/mo. Renewal billing term not stated.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Monthly billing price: not stated anywhere on the host's own site (checked 2026-09-06).

What it costs once the introductory term is over

A hosting price has three parts that are almost never shown together: the invoice charged at signup, the cost of the months inside the period you are comparing, and the invoice that arrives when the introductory term ends. These are different numbers and the two tables below keep them apart.

Service cost allocated to each period, per month and in total. This is the cost of the months inside the period, computed from the published intro price, its prepaid term and the renewal option shown above. It is not the amount charged to your card — for that see the cash table. checked 2026-09-06
Plan1 year2 years3 years5 years
StartUp$2.99
$36 of service
$10.49
$252 of service
$12.99
$468 of service
$14.99
$899 of service
GrowBig$4.99
$60 of service
$17.49
$420 of service
$21.66
$780 of service
$24.99
$1,499 of service
GoGeek$7.99
$96 of service
$26.49
$636 of service
$32.66
$1,176 of service
$37.59
$2,255 of service

Scroll sideways on a phone.

What is actually charged, and when

What is actually charged, and when. Cash due today is the invoice for the introductory term. The renewal invoice is one full renewal billing period, not a month. Cash paid through a date counts every invoice charged on or before it, so it can exceed the service used. checked 2026-09-06
PlanCash due todayNext renewal invoiceCash paid through 1yrCash paid through 2yrCash paid through 3yrCash paid through 5yrUnused prepaid at 3yr
StartUp$36renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons$360 months
GrowBig$60renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons$600 months
GoGeek$96renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons$960 months

Scroll sideways on a phone.

cash due today = the invoice the host publishes for the introductory billing term service cost (Y) = intro price x months inside the intro term + renewal price x the remaining months + setup fee renewal invoice = the published renewal price for one stated renewal billing term cash paid through = cash due today + every renewal invoice charged on or before that date unused prepaid = paid-for months still remaining at the end of the period renewal multiple = renewal price / intro price

Service cost and cash paid are not the same number. A 48-month offer compared over three years has 36 months of service cost but a four-year invoice already paid. We show both and never call either one the total. No domain renewal, migration or overage charge is added to either. The full method is at Method.

How to read these figures

The same host in the other market

Different plan names, a different currency and, on most hosts, different renewal terms. Those figures are on their own page so that nothing on this one mixes two markets:

Where to check this yourself

Go to SiteGround and open its pricing page. Every United States figure above comes from https://www.siteground.com/web-hosting.htm, read on 2026-09-06.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.

Sources: hosts' own pricing and renewal pages only. Figures last verified 2026-09-06. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.