United States · Shared hosting

GreenGeeks US renewal prices: what it costs after the intro term

GreenGeeks's Lite plan advertises $2.95 a month in the United States and renews at $13.95 - 4.7x the advertised price.

That rate is not what is charged at signup: the 12-month term is billed as $35 up front. The host does not state which billing term its renewal price applies to, so the next invoice cannot be computed without guessing.

The advertised price covers 12 months. Over 2 years the service costs $8.45 a month, or $203 allocated to that period.

Advertised$2.95/mo12-month prepaid term
Cash due today$35computed from the published monthly price
Renews at$13.95/mo equivalentrenewal billing term not stated by the host
Last checked2026-09-06from the host's own pricing page

What the host publishes in the United States

Source: GreenGeeks pricing page. Renewal prices from https://www.greengeeks.com/support/article/greengeeks-shared-hosting-pricing/. checked 2026-09-06
PlanTypeAdvertisedCash due todayRenewal options as publishedIncreaseConditions as published
LiteShared hosting$2.95
12-month prepaid term
$35
computed from the published monthly price and its term
  • $13.95/mo — renewal billing term not stated by the host
4.7xNamed 'Lite' on the live page. Pre-paid for 12 months, renews at $13.95/month. Renewal billing term not stated and no upfront total published.
ProShared hosting$4.95
12-month prepaid term
$59
computed from the published monthly price and its term
  • $18.95/mo — renewal billing term not stated by the host
3.8xNamed 'Pro' on the live page. Pre-paid for 12 months, renews at $18.95/month. Renewal billing term not stated.
PremiumShared hosting$8.95
12-month prepaid term
$107
computed from the published monthly price and its term
  • $30.95/mo — renewal billing term not stated by the host
3.5xNamed 'Premium' on the live page. Pre-paid for 12 months, renews at $30.95/month. Renewal billing term not stated.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Monthly billing price: not stated anywhere on the host's own site (checked 2026-09-06).

Free domain year1: not stated anywhere on the host's own site (checked 2026-09-06).

What it costs once the introductory term is over

A hosting price has three parts that are almost never shown together: the invoice charged at signup, the cost of the months inside the period you are comparing, and the invoice that arrives when the introductory term ends. These are different numbers and the two tables below keep them apart.

Service cost allocated to each period, per month and in total. This is the cost of the months inside the period, computed from the published intro price, its prepaid term and the renewal option shown above. It is not the amount charged to your card — for that see the cash table. checked 2026-09-06
Plan1 year2 years3 years5 years
Lite$2.95
$35 of service
$8.45
$203 of service
$10.28
$370 of service
$11.75
$705 of service
Pro$4.95
$59 of service
$11.95
$287 of service
$14.28
$514 of service
$16.15
$969 of service
Premium$8.95
$107 of service
$19.95
$479 of service
$23.62
$850 of service
$26.55
$1,593 of service

Scroll sideways on a phone.

What is actually charged, and when

What is actually charged, and when. Cash due today is the invoice for the introductory term. The renewal invoice is one full renewal billing period, not a month. Cash paid through a date counts every invoice charged on or before it, so it can exceed the service used. checked 2026-09-06
PlanCash due todayNext renewal invoiceCash paid through 1yrCash paid through 2yrCash paid through 3yrCash paid through 5yrUnused prepaid at 3yr
Lite$35renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons$350 months
Pro$59renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons$590 months
Premium$107renewal billing term not published — excluded from cash comparisons$1070 months

Scroll sideways on a phone.

cash due today = the invoice the host publishes for the introductory billing term service cost (Y) = intro price x months inside the intro term + renewal price x the remaining months + setup fee renewal invoice = the published renewal price for one stated renewal billing term cash paid through = cash due today + every renewal invoice charged on or before that date unused prepaid = paid-for months still remaining at the end of the period renewal multiple = renewal price / intro price

Service cost and cash paid are not the same number. A 48-month offer compared over three years has 36 months of service cost but a four-year invoice already paid. We show both and never call either one the total. No domain renewal, migration or overage charge is added to either. The full method is at Method.

How to read these figures

Where to check this yourself

Go to GreenGeeks and open its pricing page. Every United States figure above comes from https://www.greengeeks.com/pricing/ and the host's own renewal-price page, read on 2026-09-06.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.

Sources: hosts' own pricing and renewal pages only. Figures last verified 2026-09-06. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.